Home > The Laboratory > IHMC news

[Call for papers] Diplomacy for migrants. The management and control of foreigners by diplomatic agents (16th-19th centuries)

Share this page:

Submission deadline : 1st June 2018

Venue: Institut historique allemand Paris
Date: 12th-14th December 2018

This meeting, which forms part of the five-year programme organised by the École Française in Rome, Managing foreigners. Migrants, diplomats and hospitality, Italy - Europe (16th-mid 19th centuries), will take place at the German Historical Institute from the 12th to the 14th December 2018. It will attempt to address a still virtually unexplored aspect of diplomatic practice: the arrangements for the control and management of foreigners by officials posted in various European states between the sixteenth and the nineteenth centuries. 

The focus of this meeting will be to examine the ways in which diplomats, in the broad sense, in conjunction with or independently of their consulates, involved themselves in supporting, permitting, or encouraging the movement and integration of “their” foreign nationals within the states in which they were operating. The wording here is deliberately ambiguous: the aim will be to identify all the individuals or groups who, regarded as foreigners within a particular country, enjoyed diplomatic protection; and to determine the nature and extent of this in different periods and places, and the reasons for it. The foreigners selected will not be limited to citizens of the ambassador’s country of origin: they could be individuals or communities that required protection for a whole variety of reasons – religious or political (in the cases of the exiled ‘protestants’ of the 16th-17th centuries and the ‘patriots’ of the late 18th and 19th centuries), diplomatic (in cases of wards of rulers or ‘allied’ states) or alternatively social, even personal (in the cases of those whose country of origin was the same as the ambassador’s – which may not, in fact, necessarily be the one which he was serving). 

Aside from these ‘legitimate’ foreign nationals who enjoyed diplomatic protection, the aim is also to determine to what extent ambassadors were able to intervene in an attempt to limit – even prevent – the integration of certain categories of ‘aliens’ in the states where they were posted: either because they were considered useful and therefore needed to be persuaded to remain in their country of origin so as to avoid a ‘brain drain’; or, on the other hand, because they were considered as ‘undesirables’ by the state represented by these officials – notably in the cases of those who were obliged to seek refuge outside their own countries for religious or political reasons. 

Based on the analysis and discussion of various works, the aim will be to shed light, throughout history, on the differing diplomatic approaches and dynamics involved in the management of foreign nationals, whether privileged or stigmatised. From this perspective, these two days could be organised along the following lines: 

  1. the first of these will focus on the ways in which various categories of migrants were registered, i.e. an examination of all the existing documents from diplomatic sources which relate to the selection and review of foreign nationals and which are rarely consulted today: the ‘lists’ and ‘tables’ drawn up by the chancelleries of embassies for the purposes of counting foreign nationals who were either settled or in transit through the countries under the ambassadors’ jurisdiction; the letters and notes of recommendation given to the ‘privileged few’ they either had in mind or with whom they were already acquainted; the ‘letters of safe conduct’ and ‘passports’ issued to foreign nationals for the purposes of travelling, visiting and residence for various periods of time. By doing so, the focus will be on the shift from selection being based on ‘social awareness or recognition’ to review being based on ‘individual identification’. The objective will therefore be to examine the reasons and contexts which induced diplomats to compile these reviews and issue or refuse these permits, whilst also shedding light on the various types of documentation found in the different administrative cultures specific to the various European chancelleries and embassies. 
  2. the second line of enquiry will address the ways in which ambassadors intervened with local authorities on behalf of or against certain communities (of nationals or foreign nationals). It will therefore examine the way in which diplomats attempted to obtain extensions, reductions and suspensions of the rights and privileges granted to individuals or to communities of foreign nationals, who were not necessarily natives of the countries they came from but who the former believed were entitled to a say or even intervention on their behalf. 

This diplomatic intervention on behalf of or against foreign nationals resulted in a process of negotiation, even lobbying – the targets of which need to be ascertained (parishes, ministries and administrations) – and adjustments (regarding the nature, the duration and the areas of privileges awarded or contested). It will also be necessary to demonstrate how this intervention was sometimes translated into a form of interference – particularly in legal matters – when an ambassador took up a case on behalf of or against certain accused persons, or else when he attempted to obtain the extradition of certain criminals who sought refuge abroad. Hence it will be necessary to demonstrate how politics and policy concerning foreign nationals was not only determined by European ministerial staff, but that it was also the result of negotiations with diplomats, and was based on the different types of status they claimed regarding foreign nationals: that of ‘protector’ (who could provide them with a ‘guarantee’, for example), ‘ally’ (within the context, for example, of the ‘Family Treaties’), or alternatively ‘friend’ (of patriots, nationals or exiles who adhered to the political principles of the states both represented and defended abroad by its diplomatic agents). 

Finally, particular attention will be drawn to the rhetorical and legal forms of justification used by ambassadors to defend or deny the ‘rights’ of their subjects and those of the foreigners they were attempting to protect or exclude. Which words were employed to categorise certain foreigners as being entitled to diplomatic protection and distinguish them from those who were not or for whom this was no longer the case? Which arguments were used to plead their case or, conversely, to delegitimise their presence? Lastly, which legal norms were called upon to justify these demands? Those that were found in public law (treaties), in natural law (the law of nations), or else those that were bound up with the friendships that existed between states, rulers and nations? This analysis of terminological and legal records should therefore make it possible to establish what defined, in practice, the famous ‘right to hospitality’, which was theorised about in all the treaties concerning the law of nations and constantly cited by diplomatic agents, but which tended to vary according to the interests, the areas and the periods under consideration. 

Thus by exploring the ways in which ambassadors were fully involved in the dynamics of the movements, integration and marginalisation of migrants, it becomes evident that diplomatic practices themselves therefore also contributed to the actual definition of these categories of ‘nationals’ and ‘aliens’. 


Proposals for presentations consisting of a synopsis (of around 500 words) and a short bio-bibliographical notice (5–10 lines) should be sent by e-mail to the planning committee at the following address: colloque.diplo.etranger.2018(at)gmail.com before Monday 14th May 2018. Presentations may be submitted in French or in English. 

Symposium organised by Naïma Ghermani (University of Grenoble UGA – LUHCIE), Virginie Martin (Paris 1 University – IHMC/IHRF) and Niels F. May (German Historical Institute Paris), in partnership with the École Française in Rome (EFR). 

Printable version of this article Printable version
Labex Hastec
Labex TransferS
PSL
Institut d'histoire moderne et contemporaine
IHMC - UMR 8066 (CNRS | ENS | Université Panthéon-Sorbonne)
45, rue d'Ulm, 75005 Paris, France
+33 (0)1 44 32 31 52 ou 32 86 | contact-ihmc@ens.fr

Accueil > Le Laboratoire > Actualités de l’IHMC > Archives des actualités

[Appel à communications] Une diplomatie des mobilités – La gestion et le contrôle des « étrangers » par les agents diplomatiques (xvie-xixe siècles)

Partager cette page :

Date limite de soumission : 1er juin 2018

Lieu : Institut historique allemand Paris
Date : 12-14 décembre 2018

Cette rencontre, qui s’inscrit dans le cadre du programme quinquennal de l’École Française de Rome Administrer l’étranger. Mobilités, diplomaties et hospitalité, Italie - Europe (xive-xixe siècle), aura lieu à l’Institut Historique Allemand les 12 et 14 décembre 2018. Elle vise à aborder une dimension encore trop peu explorée des pratiques diplomatiques : les modalités de contrôle et de gestion des « étrangers » par les agents en poste dans les différents États européens entre les xvie et xixe siècles.

L’enjeu de cette rencontre serait d’étudier la manière dont, parallèlement ou indépendamment des consuls, les acteurs diplomatiques, au sens large, procèdent pour favoriser, permettre, encourager la circulation et l’intégration de « leurs » étrangers au sein des États dans lesquels ils exercent. Par cette formule résolument ambiguë, il s’agira d’identifier tous les individus ou groupes qui, considérés comme « étrangers » dans un pays donné, bénéficient d’une protection diplomatique spécifique, dont il conviendra, suivant les lieux et les périodes, de déterminer l’étendue, la nature et les motifs. Ces « étrangers » choisis ne se réduisent pas aux ressortissants du pays dont l’ambassadeur est originaire : il peut s’agir d’individus ou de communautés protégées pour diverses raisons – qu’elles soient religieuses ou politiques (dans le cas des exilés « protestants » des xvie-xviie siècles ou des « patriotes » de la fin du xviiie-xixe siècle), diplomatiques (dans le cas de ceux sous la tutelle de princes ou d’États « alliés ») ou encore sociales, voire personnelles (pour tous ceux originaires du même pays que l’ambassadeur, qui n’est d’ailleurs pas nécessairement celui au service duquel il se trouve).

A contrario de ces étrangers « légitimes » sous protection diplomatique, il s’agira aussi de déterminer dans quelle mesure les ambassadeurs peuvent intervenir pour tenter de limiter, voire d’empêcher l’introduction et / ou l’insertion dans les États où ils sont en poste, d’autres catégories d’« étrangers » : soit parce qu’ils sont jugés utiles et qu’on cherche donc à les retenir dans leur pays d’origine pour éviter la « fuite des talents » ; soit, à l’inverse, parce qu’ils sont jugés indésirables pour l’État que ces agents représentent – notamment pour tous ceux contraints de trouver refuge à l’étranger pour des raisons confessionnelles ou politiques.

À partir de l’analyse et de la confrontation de différents types de corpus, l’objectif serait de mettre au jour, dans le temps long, les logiques et dynamiques d’une gestion diplomatique différenciée de ces étrangers privilégiés ou stigmatisés. Dans cette perspective, les deux journées pourront s’articuler autour des deux axes suivants :

1] le premier portera sur les modes d’enregistrement des différentes catégories de migrants, autrement dit sur l’étude de tous les documents relatifs à la sélection ou / et à la recension de ces étrangers, qui existent dans les sources diplomatiques et qui sont encore trop peu systématiquement exploités : les « listes » et « tableaux » dressés par les chancelleries des ambassades afin de dénombrer ces étrangers établis ou transitant dans les pays sous la juridiction de l’ambassadeur ; les lettres ou billets de recommandation fournis à un certain nombre de « privilégiés » en vue ou de leur connaissance ; les « sauf-conduits » et « passeports » délivrés aux étrangers pour voyager, séjourner et résider pour un laps de temps plus ou moins long. Ce faisant, on insistera tout particulièrement sur le glissement d’une logique de sélection fondée sur la « (re)connaissance sociale », à une logique de recension fondée sur « l’identification individuelle ». L’enjeu sera ainsi de s’interroger sur les raisons et les contextes qui incitent les agents diplomatiques à dresser ces recensions et à fournir ou refuser ces autorisations, tout en mettant aussi à jour les différents modèles de documentations en fonction des types de culture administrative spécifique des différentes chancelleries et ambassades européennes.

2] le second axe traitera des modalités d’intervention des ambassadeurs en faveur ou à l’encontre de certaines communautés (de nationaux / d’étrangers) auprès des autorités locales. Il s’agira ainsi d’étudier la manière dont les acteurs diplomatiques cherchent à obtenir l’extension, la réduction ou la suspension des privilèges et droits consentis à des individus ou à des communautés d’étrangers, qui ne sont pas nécessairement originaires de leurs propres pays mais sur lesquels ils estiment avoir un certain droit de regard voire un devoir d’intercession.

Cette intervention diplomatique « ciblée » se traduit par des modalités de négociations, voire de pressions spécifiques dont il conviendra à la fois de déterminer les destinataires (curiaux, ministériels et administratifs) et les déclinaisons (du point de vue de la nature, de la durée et des espaces des privilèges consentis ou contestés), en y incluant toutes les formes d’ingérence, notamment en matière judiciaire - lorsque l’ambassadeur prend fait et cause en faveur ou à l’encontre de certains inculpés ou bien lorsqu’il cherche à obtenir l’extradition de certains « criminels » réfugiés à l’étranger. Il s’agira ainsi de montrer en quoi la politique et la police des étrangers ne sont pas seulement définies à l’échelle des cabinets ministériels européens, mais sont aussi négociées avec les agents diplomatiques, en fonction des différents statuts qu’ils revendiquent à l’égard de ces étrangers : celui de « protecteur » (que leur confère, par exemple, la « garantie »), « d’allié » (dans le cadre, par exemple, des « Pactes de Famille »), ou encore « d’ami » (des patriotes, nationaux ou exilés, qui adhèrent aux principes politiques de l’État dont l’agent diplomatique est autant le représentant que le défenseur à l’étranger).

Enfin, une attention spécifique sera portée aux modesde justification, rhétoriques et juridiques, invoqués par les ambassadeurs auprès des autorités locales pour défendre ou dénier les « droits » de leurs ressortissants et de ceux des « étrangers » qu’ils protègent ou excluent. Quels mots sont utilisés pour qualifier ces « étrangers » sous protection diplomatique et pour les distinguer de ceux qui ne le sont pas ou qui ne le sont plus ? Quels arguments sont mobilisés pour plaider leur cause ou, à l’inverse, pour délégitimer leur présence ? Enfin, quelles normes juridiques sont convoquées pour justifier de telles demandes ? Ceux du droit public (traités), du droit naturel (droit des gens), ou bien de l’amitié entre États, princes ou nations ? Cette analyse des registres terminologiques et juridiques devrait permettre de déterminer ce qui définit, en pratique, ce fameux « droit d’hospitalité », théorisé dans tous les traités du droit des gens et sans cesse invoqué par les agents diplomatiques, mais qui se révèle toujours à géométrie variable, en fonction des intérêts, des espaces et des périodes envisagés.

En envisageant ainsi la manière dont les ambassadeurs participent pleinement des dynamiques de mobilité, d’intégration et de marginalisation des migrants, c’est donc aussi la définition même des catégories de « nationaux » et « étrangers » que les pratiques diplomatiques contribuent à construire.

Les propositions de communication composées d’un résumé (d’environ 500 mots) et d’une courte notice bio-bibliographique (5-10 lignes) sont à adresser au comité d’organisation, avant le vendredi 1er juin 2018, par mail, à l’adresse suivante : colloque.diplo.etranger.2018@gmail.com). Les communications pourront être présentées en anglais.

Colloque organisé par Naïma Ghermani (université Grenoble UGA – LUHCIE), Virginie Martin (université Paris 1 – IHMC/IHRF) et Niels May (Institut Historique allemand), en partenariat avec l’École Française de Rome (EFR).

Version imprimable de cet article Version imprimable
Labex Hastec
Labex TransferS
PSL
Institut d'histoire moderne et contemporaine
IHMC - UMR 8066 (CNRS | ENS | Université Panthéon-Sorbonne)
45, rue d'Ulm, 75005 Paris, France
+33 (0)1 44 32 31 52 ou 32 86 | contact-ihmc@ens.fr